Try searching for something else

Try searching for something else

Discussion

Why are companies ridiculous?!

2 months ago

|

I’ve been working at my job for 5 months and I began to like it around 3 months and I also started to see red flags afterward. I’m really sad and disappointed because how of overworked everyone is. Overworked and underpaid essentially. I am miserable. I have to get out of here as soon as possible. I took 3 days off and I am buried in work now. 200+ unread emails. Makes no sense to allow days off if you have to do overtime just to catch up. God please help me.

Want to comment? or with one click.

Comments
  • hoovedruid

I addressed this with my boss when he asked me why I was so upset one day. I said that I was tired of being taking advantage of, being underpaid and overworked. His response was "Everyone at this company is being taken advantage of, there is nothing I can do". I think many places have just realized they can do a lot more work with less people and get away with it because there are so many people looking for work. I noticed this a lot more after 2008.

2 months ago

Edit

You have reported this post

• Pbonnibel86

I’ve been noticing that to more and more of that a lot of companies I work for people are becoming more honest about how crappy it is to work at these companies.

2 months ago

Edit

• aab434

I have the same at my company. Anytime you take off 1 day whether it be sick or PTO you are guaranteed at least 50 unread emails. We just had a guy in inside sales take off 2 weeks and he came back to over 500 unread emails

2 months ago

Edit

• Standard-Ease-6176

I would suggest setting rules and having multiple folders. I worked at a company and a great deal of emails would come from people hitting "reply all" to stuff that had nothing to do with me or my work. Also if your office permits it, having delegates so the team can stay on top of your inbox while you're out.

2 months ago

Edit

• sunshine347